COD World Championships

The Call of Duty World Championship (commonly referred to as “Champs”) is an annual tournament run by Activision that determines the “World Champions” for the season. To determine qualification, teams must qualify through events before the World Championship. Players must be at least 18 years of age as of the beginning of the tournament in order to participate.

The inaugural tournament was first held in 2013 on Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 for the Xbox 360 and was won by Fariko Impact with the roster of Karma, Killa, Mirx, and Parasite. Complexity Gaming won the 2014 event with ACHES, Crimsix, Karma, and TeePee.

The 2015 iteration of the event was won by Denial Esports with a team consisting of Chris “Replays” Crowder, Dillon “Attach” Price, James “Clayster” Eubanks, and Jordan “JKap” Kaplan.

The 2016 iteration occurred on the 4th of September 2016, unlike previous ones held in the spring, and had a two million ($2,000,000) dollar prize pool. It was announced on June 8th, 2016 that the championship will take place along with the Call of Duty XP event which will reveal the COD Infinite Warfare Multiplayer Trailer. Team Envy won the 2016 COD XP event with Apathy, JKap, John, and Slasher. John was named MVP of the Event.

The 2017 COD infinite Warfare Championship was won by OpTic Gaming with a roster of Crimsix, Karma, Scump, and Formal.

The 2018 COD World War 2 Championship event was won by the Evil Geniuses, with a roster comprised of ACHES, Apathy, Assault, and Silly.

EUnited won the 2019 COD Black Ops 4 World Championship with the roster of Clayster, Arcitys, Abezy, Simp, and Prestinni. It was the first championship tournament that demanded a five player roster.

The 2020 COD Championship was the first for the newly minted COD League and was held on COD Modern Warfare and online. It was also a five player roster tournament and was won by the Dallas Empire with a roster of Crimsix, Clayster, Huke, Shotzzy, and Illey.

COD World Championship RESULTS

This is a list of all of the COD World Championships, their winners, the games they competed on, and the location of the tournament.

YearGame VersionVenueChampions




Third place


Fourth place


2013Black Ops 2Hollywood Palladium, Hollywood, CaliforniaFariko Impact

(Karma, KiLLa, MiRx, Parasite)

Team EnVy

(JKap, ProoFy, Rambo, StaiNViLLe)

OpTic Gaming

(BigTymeR, MerK, Scump, NaDeSHoT)

CompLexity Gaming

(ACHES, C6, TeePee, TuQuick)

2014GhostsLos Angeles Convention Center, Los Angeles, CaliforniaCompLexity Gaming

(ACHES, C6, Karma, TeePee)

Team EnVy

(MerK, NAMELESS, Rambo, StuDyy)

OpTic Gaming

(Clayster, MBoZe, NaDeSHoT, Scump)

Strictly Business

(Apathy, Censor, Dedo, Saints)

2015Advanced WarfareLos Angeles Convention Center, Los Angeles, CADenial Esports

(Attach, Clayster, JKap, Replays)

Team Revenge

(AquA, Faccento, Nagafen, Remy)

FaZe Red

(ACHES, Enable, Parasite, SlasheR)


(Classic, MBoZe, Mochila, Ricky)

2016Black Ops 3Great Western Forum, Inglewood, CaliforniaTeam EnVy

(Apathy, JKap, John, SlasheR)


(Bance, Joee, Joshh, Rated)

Team eLevate

(Aqua, Faccento, Felony, Nagafen)

Fab Games

(Desire, Dqvee, Hawqeh, Vortex)

2017Infinite WarfareAmway Center, Orlando, FloridaOpTic Gaming

(C6, FormaL, Karma, Scump)

Team EnVy

(Apathy, Jkap, John, SlasheR)

Luminosity Gaming

(Classic, Octane, Saints, Slacked)

Rise Nation

(Aqua, Faccento, FeLony, Loony)

2018WW2Nationwide Arena, Columbus, OhioEvil Geniuses

(ACHES, Apathy, Assault, SiLLY)

Team Kaliber

(Accuracy, Kenny, Fero, Enable)

FaZe Clan

(ZooMaa, Attach, Replays, Priestahh)


(Arcitys, Prestinni, Clayster, FeLonY)

2019Black Ops 4Pauley Pavilion, Los Angeles, CaliforniaeUnited

(Arcitys, aBeZy, Clayster, Prestinni, Simp)

100 Thieves

(Octane, SlasheR, Kenny, Enable, Priestahh)

OpTic Gaming

(Scump, C6, Karma, TJHaLy, Dashy)

Enigma6 Group

(KiSMET, General, Breszy, GodRx, Mayhem)

2020Modern WarfareOnlineDallas Empire

(Crimsix, Clayster, Huke, Shotzzy, Illey)

Atlanta Faze

(MajorManiak, Priestah, Simp, Cellium, Abezy)

Chicago Huntsmen

(Scump, Formal, Arcitys, Prestinni, Envoy)

London Royal Ravens

(Seany, Wuskin, Skrapz, Zer0, Dylan)


Start a Conversation